EMPortal.info Forum Index The Gateway to Electronic Music
Navigation  •   Portal  •   Forum  •   Profile  •   Search  •   SmartFeed  •   Register  •   Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

Digital downloads ??

Epiphany
Cool Member

netherlands.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:07 pm    Digital downloads ?? Reply with quoteBack to top

As an mix/mastering engineer I spend a lot of time and effort to achieve the highest sound quality as possible. Now days it is common to distribute your music in a digital format. Most of the time that will be a mp3 file. As a professional engineer I am reluctant to do so, since a mp3 is not a lossless decoding format and a lot of the original dynamics and overall sound quality will be lost forever. And besides that, is it not strange that people are willing to listen to mp3 file's on a expensive sound system ?

Ambient music is all about sound. If i do a A/B test with a original cd and the mp3 version of it, most of the time the difference is dramatic. I do realize that people who are listening to a mp3 file maybe never will hear the original cd. So they might think the mp3 sounds great. This fenomena troubles me.

I would love to hear how you think about this.

OfflineView user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website    
Graham
One of the Coolest Member

uk.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:14 pm    (No subject) Reply with quoteBack to top

This is why we created MusicZeit.

Primarily aimed at lossless audio.

www.musiczeit.com

HiddenView user's profileSend private message    
Epiphany
Cool Member

netherlands.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 8:06 pm    (No subject) Reply with quoteBack to top

Indeed...

Altus
Cool Member

canada.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 8:11 pm    (No subject) Reply with quoteBack to top

FLAC is slowly gaining popularity, especially in the ambient genre.