EMPortal.info Forum Index The Gateway to Electronic Music
Navigation  •   Portal  •   Forum  •   Profile  •   Search  •   SmartFeed  •   Register  •   Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

Releasing Online Music: which distributer?

Nisus
Cool Member

belgium.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:42 am    Releasing Online Music: which distributer? Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi All,

I'm new to releasing albums, so I (and probably others too) would like to hear your thoughts on the advantages and/or disadvantages of online distributers... So what do you think of...
- cdbaby
- tunecore
- reverbnation
- bandcamp
Which ones would you recommend? And why?
What are your experiences with online distributers?

Rgds,

Nisus

OfflineView user's profileSend private message    
VCO1
One of the Coolest Member

netherlands.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:39 am    (No subject) Reply with quoteBack to top

As a consumer I prefer Bandcamp. They carry my format of choice (flac) and have an easy way to pay (Paypal). Besides, the prices on Bandcamp are very reasonable too, prehaps due to the low margin they take (I think it's 10% or less).

CDBaby is okay-ish for buying cd's. Downloads are mp3 only, and it's not even clear what bitrate that is.

The other well known names (some of them not in your list) ask ridiculous prices for downloads. And that's part because of their high margins. A download that's priced above 10 euro (or the equivalent in other currencies) is basically out of the question for me in 99% of the cases.

So Bandcamp FTW, I'd say!

OfflineView user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website    
BruecknerAmbient

germany.gif

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:07 am    (No subject) Reply with quoteBack to top

As a musician, I also clearly prefer BandCamp at the moment. As VCO1 said: low margin, good service, high flexibility, wide variety of formats, etc. - and it's even looking kinda stylish, too... Wink